Discrete Mathematics is the study of structures which are fundamentally discrete rather than continuous. While many famous results in discrete mathematics pre-date the invention of the digital computer, the field has exploded in our digital age. Computers store data in discrete bits and operate in discrete steps. Discrete Mathematics includes the investigation of all structures and algorithms appropriate for the representation and storage of data. The Internet, for instance, can be usefully represented as a graph, a fundamental object of this discipline.

Discrete Mathematics includes, among others sub-fields, Graph Theory, Combinatorics, Coding Theory, Cryptography, Game Theory, Computational Complexity, and Combinatorial Optimization. It makes useful and fascinating connections with fields like Group Theory, Matrix Theory, and Linear Programming. It includes the most important unsolved problem in mathematics, the question of whether P = NP. And investigations in many fields, for instance Number Theory, combine both discrete and continuous tools.

VCU’s Discrete Mathematics group consists of Ghidewon Abay-Asmerom, Moa Apagodu, Danail Bonchev, Daniel Cranston, Richard Hammack, Glenn Hurlbert, Craig Larson, and Dewey Taylor (from Mathematics), together with our neighbors Paul Brooks and Yonglia Song (in Operations Research) and Jose Dula (Production and Operations Management). This group runs a weekly Discrete Mathematics Seminar.

Discrete Mathematics Faculty
Ghidewon Abay-Asmerom Associate Professor
Harris Hall 4147
804.828.6240
gabayasm@vcu.edu
Moa Apagodu Associate Professor
Harris Hall 4148
804.828.5984
mapagodu@vcu.edu
Neal Bushaw Assistant Professor
Harris Hall 4107
804.828.7890
nobushaw@vcu.edu
David Chan Associate Professor
Harris Hall 4105
804.828.5917
dmchan@vcu.edu
Dan Cranston Associate Professor
Harris Hall 4109
804.828.3384
dcranston@vcu.edu
Richard Hammack Professor
Harris Hall 4166
804.828.6237
rhammack@vcu.edu
Glenn Hurlbert Chair Mathematical Sciences, Professor
Harris Hall 4101
804.828.3523
ghurlbert@vcu.edu
Candy Kent Associate Professor
Harris Hall 4173
804.828.5585
cmkent@vcu.edu
Craig Larson Associate Professor
Harris Hall 4106
804.828.5576
clarson@vcu.edu
Dewey Taylor Associate Professor
Harris Hall 4160
804.828.5569
dttaylor2@vcu.edu