Mathematical Biology (also known as Quantitative Biology, Mathematical Life Sciences, Theoretical Biology, etc.) is a growing area of research that involves the collaboration of mathematics, biology, medicine, physics, chemistry and the social sciences to construct models of phenomena in the Life Sciences. These models are used to confirm, explore and predict the biological, mechanical, chemical, and social causes, and structures that create and influence biological processes.  This allows the researchers to understand how these underlying processes work in order to diagnose, cure, prevent and influence the system.  This work is inherently collaborative due to the large scope of the problems that are examined, and their impact can felt at the microscopic sub-cellular level to the individual person to the world-wide environmental level.

VCU’s Mathematical Biology group currently includes David Chan (population dynamics and epidemiology), Laura Ellwein (human physiology, cardiovascular dynamics), Candace Kent (cardiac arrhythmias and the allee effect), Angela Reynolds (inflammation, wound healing), Suzanne Robertson (ecology and epidemiology), Hassan Sedaghat (tachycardia) and Rebecca Segal (wound healing and the respiratory system).

Mathematical Biology Faculty
David Chan Associate Professor
Harris Hall 4105
804.828.5917
dmchan@vcu.edu
Laura Ellwein Fix Assistant Professor
Harris Hall 4170
804.828.2748
lellwein@vcu.edu
Candy Kent Associate Professor
Harris Hall 4173
804.828.5585
cmkent@vcu.edu
Reed Ogrosky Assistant Professor
Harris Hall 4177
804.828.0459
hrogrosky@vcu.edu
Angela Reynolds Director of Graduate Studies, Associate Professor
Harris Hall 4182
804.828.1319
areynolds2@vcu.edu
Suzanne Robertson Assistant Professor
Harris Hall 4172
804.828.2912
srobertson7@vcu.edu
Hassan Sedaghat Professor
Harris Hall 4168
804.828.5806
hsedagha@vcu.edu
Rebecca Segal Associate Professor
Harris Hall 4178
804.828.4756
rasegal@vcu.edu