Craig Larson

Craig Larson, Ph.D.


Grace E. Harris Hall, 1015 Floyd Ave., room 4106


  • Ph.D., Mathematics, University of Houston, 2008 [Advisers: Ermelinda DeLaVina and Klaus Kaiser; Dissertation: "Graph Theoretic Independence and Critical Independent Sets"]
  • M.A., Philosophy, University of Houston, 2000

Research Interests

  • Size and structure of maximum independent sets in graphs
  • Applications of graph theory to chemistry
  • Design and use of mathematical conjecture-making programs

Select Publications

  • C. E. Larson, and N. Van Cleemput, 2017. Automated conjecturing iii. Annals of Mathematics and Artificial Intelligence, 81(3), pp.315-327.
  • C. E. Larson, & N. Van Cleemput, 2016. Automated conjecturing I: Fajtlowicz's Dalmatian heuristic revisited. Artificial Intelligence, 231, 17-38.
  • D. J. Klein and C. E. Larson, Eigenvalues of Saturated Hydrocarbons, Journal of Mathematical Chemistry 51(6) 2013, 1608–1618.
  • C. E. Larson, The Critical Independence Number and an Independence Decomposition, European Journal of Combinatorics 32(2), 2011, 294–300.
  • S. Fajtlowicz and C. E. Larson, Graph-theoretic Independence as a Predictor of Fullerene Stability, Chemical-Physics Letters, 377/5-6, 2003, 485–490.


  • American Mathematical Society (AMS)
  • Mathematics Association of America (MAA)
  • Institute for Combinatorics and its Applications (ICA), Fellow
  • Association for Computing Machinery

Professional Appointments

  • VCU Department of Mathematics and Applies Mathematics, Professor, 2021–present
  • VCU Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics, Associate Professor, 2014–2021
  • VCU Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics, Assistant Professor, 2008–2014
  • University of Houston Department of Mathematics, Lecturer, 2000–2008


  • Fulbright Research Scholar, Ghent University (Belgium), 2013
  • VCU College of Humanities and Sciences Distinguished Teaching Award winner, 2013
  • Mathematics Association of America Project NExT Fellow, 2009–2010
  • University of Houston Teaching Excellence Award winner, 2006