Discrete Mathematics

Discrete Mathematics is the study of structures which are fundamentally discrete rather than continuous. While many famous results in discrete mathematics pre-date the invention of the digital computer, the field has exploded in our digital age. Computers store data in discrete bits and operate in discrete steps. Discrete Mathematics includes the investigation of all structures and algorithms appropriate for the representation and storage of data. The Internet, for instance, can be usefully represented as a graph, a fundamental object of this discipline.

Discrete Mathematics includes, among others sub-fields, Graph Theory, Combinatorics, Coding Theory, Cryptography, Game Theory, Computational Complexity, and Combinatorial Optimization. It makes useful and fascinating connections with fields like Group Theory, Matrix Theory, and Linear Programming. It includes the most important unsolved problem in mathematics, the question of whether P = NP. And investigations in many fields, for instance Number Theory, combine both discrete and continuous tools.

VCU’s Discrete Mathematics group consists of Ghidewon Abay-Asmerom, Moa Apagodu, Danail Bonchev, Daniel Cranston, Richard Hammack, Glenn Hurlbert, Craig Larson, and Dewey Taylor (from Mathematics), and Jose Dula (Production and Operations Management). This group runs a weekly Discrete Mathematics Seminar.

Discrete Mathematics Faculty

Name Title Email Phone
Ghidewon Abay-Asmerom, Ph.D. Associate Professor gabayasm@vcu.edu 804.828.6240
Moa Apagodu, Ph.D. Associate Professor mapagodu@vcu.edu 804.828.5984
Neal Bushaw, Ph.D. Assistant Professor nobushaw@vcu.edu 804.828.7890
David Chan, Ph.D. Associate Professor dmchan@vcu.edu 804.828.5917
Dan Cranston, Ph.D. Associate Professor dcranston@vcu.edu 804.828.3384
Richard Hammack, Ph.D. Professor rhammack@vcu.edu 804.828.6237
Glenn Hurlbert, Ph.D. Department Chair, Professor ghurlbert@vcu.edu 804.828.3523
Craig Larson, Ph.D. Associate Professor clarson@vcu.edu 804.828.5576
Dewey Taylor, Ph.D. Associate Professor dttaylor2@vcu.edu 804.828.5569